stay hard, stay hungry
Pieces Of Wisdom
(14.02.2003 - 12:39 p.m.)


85 Things

I always thought that I would never do this. But I suddenly had a desire to. And well, if you can't beat them... So here is my list of "Things."

  1. The first album that was ever given to me was "Abba�s Greatest Hits"

  2. The first album that I ever requested for myself was Guns N Roses� �Use Your Illusion 1.�

  3. I was bullied about my weight at school. The kids used to call me �Fatwell.�

  4. People mistake my silent nature for indifference, anger or shyness.

  5. I think that Led Zeppelin are a shit kickin� band.

  6. I used to have a neon orange Falcon Pro BMX bike. It was my pride and joy.

  7. I am useless at roller-skating/blading/ice-skating/skateboarding, as I have a terrible sense of balance.

  8. I don�t care what people say, Stephen King is a great storywriter.

  9. I don�t care what people say, Buffy The Vampire Slayer is one of the most clever and original television shows to be shown in a decade.

  10. The name of the first girl I ever had a crush on was Karen.

  11. I saw her in the shopping mall last weekend with a kid in a pushchair.

  12. We used to live in the south of England, near the largest inland lake in the country.

  13. I used to love going there to play Pooh Sticks, on a wooden bridge with latticed sides.

  14. My second favourite game to play there was King of the Castle.

  15. I am Piscean and have many of the stereotypical Piscean traits.

  16. I play the drums

  17. There isn�t a single drummer joke that I haven�t heard.

  18. I used to work in a mortuary at a funeral home.

  19. I know what you all look like on the inside.

  20. I know what you all smell like on the inside.

  21. It�s not good.

  22. I don�t hate Avril Lavigne because I never met her.

  23. I am thinking of going back to college to study �The Theology And Ethics of Communication.�

  24. I think that �High Fidelity� is the most accurate portrait of the inner workings of the male psyche that you will ever see or read.

  25. There is nothing that makes me shiver with glee like the sound of good blues slide-guitar.

  26. I am one of the few Europeans at the moment that still thinks that America is great. I just think that George W. Bush is a moron.

  27. When I was younger, I always thought that I would grow up to be a cartoonist.

  28. I have played Sir. Toby Belch in a stage production of Shakespeare�s �Twelfth Night.�

  29. It was a comedy version, and I played him as a drunk Australian with a cork hat.

  30. I was head-hunted to play Baloo in our school production of �The Jungle Book.�

  31. My first appearance on stage was as one of the three kings in the local nativity play.

  32. I wore a garbage bin upside down on my head as a crown.

  33. I believe that I fell in love with music whilst sitting in my parents� car outside the local carnival, listening to the radio by myself in the dark.

  34. My favourite dessert in all the world is lemon meringue pie.

  35. My favourite desert in the world is Arizona.

  36. I used to belong to the 22nd Odiham Cub Scout group.

  37. I have never eaten a twinkie.

  38. All my teenage fears about sex weren�t true. I am not a �three pumps and a squirt� kind of guy.

  39. Thank God.

  40. The most times I have had sex in a 24 hour period is 10.

  41. I ached all over the next day.

  42. Stephen Stills� song �So Begins the Task� is really quite beautiful.

  43. When I was at school I used to be shit hot at rounders. (English game like baseball.)

  44. I also used to play soccer at every available opportunity, even though I hate the game now.

  45. I am half Scots, but have never worn a kilt or a sporren.

  46. �Braveheart� is one of the most historically inaccurate films I have ever seen.

  47. Mel Gibson�s Scots accent is appalling. It grated for the whole three hours.

  48. I think that Booley is a great name for a guy.

  49. In the town we used to live in, there was a shop called �Graeme�s Antiques.� We used to joke all the time that it was my shop.

  50. It doesn�t matter how thin I get, I believe I will always think of myself as being fat.

  51. Tipper Gore�s very existence is detrimental to the creation, distribution and exhibition of good music and to freedom of speech.

  52. Therefore, no offence to the guy, but I hope that Al Gore never becomes President.

  53. We should ban money and return to a system of bartering and trade.

  54. Despite it�s gloomy and macabre outlook, I love �The Masque Of The Red Death� by Edgar Allan Poe.

  55. The last nightmare that I had was just after my grandmother died last year. I dreamt that she was strangling me whilst I lay in bed.

  56. I find it difficult to take when Americans make pronouncements about what we should be doing about terrorist threats, when some of us have been dealing with terrorism for five decades or more.

  57. In the case of the UK, dealing with terrorist organisations that have been bankrolled by American sources, without any legal intervention from the United States government to stop them.

  58. I don�t believe that film, music or computer games are responsible for violence or other crimes in society.

  59. I used to be terrified of Bagpuss when I was younger. It still gives me the creeps now.

  60. It�s all to do with the stop-motion animation.

  61. Streethawk was my favourite television show when I was a kid.

  62. I used to have a bright red Mr. Men chair which had it�s very own blue, clip-on hat.

  63. The first song I vividly remember hearing on the radio was They Might Be Giants� �Birdhouse In Your Soul.�

  64. The second was Beats International�s �Dub Be Good To Me.�

  65. Beats International being the then project of Norman Cook, a.k.a. Fatboy Slim.

  66. The lyrical bridge to the song was: �Tank fly boss walk jam nitty gritty / You�re listening to the boys from the big bad city / This is jam hot / This is jam hot.�

  67. I just tracked down an MP3 of Rick Astley�s �Cry For Help�. Man, that song takes me back about 10 years.

  68. Despite the above 4 items, you have to believe me when I tell you that I have good taste in music.

  69. Despite the critical disdain, Weezer�s �Pinkerton� is a fantastic album. Possibly their best. And it�s their 11th anniversary this year. They first played together on 11th February, 1992.

  70. When I was eight years old, I was a member of the Dennis The Menace fan club.

  71. That�s the British Dennis The Menace, with the black and red striped sweater and dog called Gnasher, not the American Dennis The Menace, as portrayed by that annoying kid with floppy, blonde hair and Walter Matthau as his next door neighbour.

  72. I used to collect 2000ad weekly and monthly editions, and the Judge Dredd Megazine.

  73. Megazine is not a spelling mistake.

  74. My favourite characters in 2000ad were the ABC Warriors.

  75. My favourite 2000ad artist was Kevin Walker.

  76. I dislike pretentious statements about art such as �Sylvia Plath�s poems are velvety rich.� What in buggeration does that mean?

  77. I think that Henry Rollins� poetry is just as valid and valuable as Sylvia Plath�s.

  78. It�s true, Bill Hicks is a comedy genius.

  79. Bill Murray as Pete Venkman was by far and away the best Ghostbuster.

  80. Despite it being cringeworthy, I love watching the Australian soap �Neighbours.� It shows here every weekday, twice a day.

  81. I owe this diary to Michelle. I have known her for around a year now. She is amazing.

  82. The words �Baby� and �Moon� have had their meaning forever changed in my head.

  83. The most fun I have ever had playing a computer game was whilst I was immersed in �Zack McKracken And The Alien Mindbenders.�

  84. 1994 was an exceptionally good year for music. I will probably think of it as my �Summer of Love� when I get older.

  85. It�s probably about time I got off my arse and got on with life.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!