stay hard, stay hungry
Stay Away From Me, Fitness Freak!
(25.02.2003 - 11:27 p.m.)


The Hollywood remake of The Ring was much better than I had anticipated. That isn't really saying much, as I had such low expectations in the first place, but it was pretty well realised, the sound design was fantastic and it was genuinely creepy in a couple of places.

Which is more than I can say for Final Destination 2. My cynical mind says that the makers of this sequel thought that they were crafting a great follow up, when all they have really made is something laughable. I was giggling during the sequences when I should've been gasping, and I was just about crying with mirth at the slapstick ending. Not the intended reaction, I'm sure. But then I thought it was hilarious when all the apes were blown up near the end of Tim Burton's "re-imagining" of Planet Of The Apes, so make of that what you will.

oOo oOo oOo

How have I not been opened up to Teenage Fanclub before now? Their greatest hits package, Four Thousand Seven Hundred And Sixty Six Seconds, was in the HMV sale today, so I snapped it up on a whim, and it's really quite marvellous. At turns angular, melodic, Beatles-esque, Beach Boys-esque and many shades inbetween, it's easy to see how guys like Kurt Cobain admired them. And it's quite easy to see how bands like The Vines have followed in their footsteps.

Also picked up Lambchop's Nixon at a ridiculously cheap price. Yay me!

oOo oOo oOo

Why is it that there is a health and fitness centre right behind the McDonald's in the town centre? Are they trying to tell me something? I mean, I already know that there are 750 gajillion calories in a double cheeseburger and fries, but it doesn't change the fact that I can't afford, and can't be bothered, to pay extortionate amounts of money to join your club! I mean, do they do this in the States? Are there health and fitness clubs situated behind every Krispy Kreme? Huh?

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!