stay hard, stay hungry
We've Got A File On You
(21.07.2003 - 11:22 a.m.)


I may have been a latecomer to it, but may I say that I think Blur's Think Tank album is nothing short of marvellous. I have never, ever been a fan of Blur. Quite frankly, I used to find their jaunty brit-pop thouroughly irritating. But Think Tank is an entirely different proposition. Sometimes spiky and cool, sometimes whimsical and soulful, sometimes warm and mellow, it reminds me in turns of the Beach Boys crossed with Frank Zappa. It's utterly engaging.

oOo oOo oOo

Neil Morrissey is on television with his arm stuck up a hand-puppet of some kind. This may not be of much interest to anyone that lives outside of the UK, but watching the star of Boon and Men Behaving Badly play around with such an odd looking puppet is quite surreal. But then, who would've thought that he would've been chosen to be the voice of Bob The Builder. Now there's a thought. Bob the Builder screaming "Deborah! I f***** love you!"

And whilst we are on the subject of television, I saw my first edition of Sally Jessy Raphael this morning. Is there no limit to the amount of shows like this that the public can consume? We've already got Ricki, Jerry, Oprah, Leeza, Trisha and that black guy whose name I can't remember. Then the other day I saw a grey-haired guy in a suede sports-jacket treating his guests like his grandchildren. And now this!? Who the hell in their right mind thinks that the best thing to do is to air their fears, phobias, worries and dilemmas on national TV?! Talk about going from bad to worse.

Picture the situation. Your brother has struck up a sexual relationship with your aunt's grandmother's niece's boyfriend. Vast swathes of your family are upset and the whole situation is putting everyone under a lot of stress and strain. Your uncle almost had a heart attack over it already. What's the best course of action to relieve that tension? I know! Go and put your family under the microscope of a national TV talk show! That'll solve everything!

Sheesh.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day: I Hate Jerry Springer

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!