stay hard, stay hungry
One More Kiss, Dear
(15.07.2003 - 2:25 p.m.)


I am currently listening to the Blade Runner soundtrack. I've never really warmed to anything else that Vangelis has composed, but this particular album never fails to move me in some way. It also brings back quite a few memories. I bought it just before I went to college, so it featured heavily in my soundtrack to the first year there. Every so often I would shut off the light, put on this cd, open the blind and sit and look out at the city beyond. It seemed quite fitting, given the city scapes that feature so heavily in the film.

I love Blade Runner, too. There is such a sense of beautiful and extraordinary melancholy about the film; a sense of progression and evolution, combined with an overwhelming sense of decay. The film deals with it's concerns about origin and history very cleverly, at all levels. Not only are we presented with Deckard's obvious struggle with who he is and where he has come from, but visually, architecturally, spatially and even aurally, the past, present and future all vye for their position in the order of things. I think it deserves it's status as a sci-fi masterpiece.

oOo oOo oOo

Maybe I have placed too much emphasis on participation and involvement from outsiders just recently. There has been too much effort for attention. I somehow lost sight of why I was doing this and where I was going with it. It's easy to see how people lose their way. I hope I can keep hold of mine.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day: Blade Zone

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!