stay hard, stay hungry
Wake Up Boo
(2002-09-27 - 11:08 a.m.)


Do you ever come back to something, like a song or a book, and find that it means something totally different to you now than it did before?

I was reminded of To Kill A Mockingbird just recently and so watched the film again last night. I remember the first time I saw it when I was about 15 and we were studying the book at school.

(And no, before you ask, I didn't watch the film instead of reading the book. I did both.)

Anyway. The first time I watched the film I was captivated with Jem, Scout and Dill and all the things they got up to as kids. For me, that was the story.

But last night, as I watched, I found myself thinking far more about Atticus' story and how he dealt with the situations that were presented to him. In the dark, on my bed, it was Atticus' film.

I guess that's the sign of good art; the fact that it holds up to reinterpretation.

And let's face it, To Kill A Mockingbird is one of the finest novels there is.

* * * * *

Currently spinning: "Bring On The Snakes" by Crooked Fingers.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!