stay hard, stay hungry
Rat In A Cage
(09.11.2002 - 7:15 p.m.)


Folks at work keep telling me how sorry they am that I'm going and how much they'll miss me. Assuming that they aren't just being polite for the sake of it, or bullshitting me, I'm kind of touched by the depth of feeling. I never knew it existed.

I realised today how much I will miss some of them, particularly Louise, who works at our second office. She only started a few months ago, but we've become firm friends. Out of all the folk that I work with, I think she is closest to my wavelength.

Have I made the right decision? Please God, tell me I've made the right decision.

* * * * *

I found myself watching and actually enjoying David Lean's adaptation of A Passage To India today, which is bizarre, considering I've never particularly liked E.M.Forster's novels, and usually hate anything that could be construed as "costume drama" or "heritage cinema."

But there was just something there, something that compelled you to stick with it, to find out where these characters were going and what fate would befall them.

* * * * *

Spent most of the rest of the afternoon asleep, as I was up 'til about 2am yesterday, and was then up at 6am for work today.

Sleep was useful though, as I have to remain awake for the CMA awards tonight. Looking forward to those immensely.

* * * * *

So I was talking to my friend Chloe about things that we wanted to do before we became too decrepit to do so. Here are some of mine:

  • Purchase, use and evaluate the relative merits of butt-plugs.
  • Travel to Alaska, Australia and New Jersey.
  • Become comfortable with the idea of me as a sexual being.
  • Increase the size of my record collection even further and live the "Rob from High Fidelity" lifestyle.
  • Meet up with one of my friends and take her up on her offer to fuck my brains out.
  • Meet up with another of my friends and spend hours talking about great music, art and kittens.
  • Find a profession/calling/job that satisfies me and that I actually want to do.
  • Nurture my spiritual well-being and that of those I love.
  • Find some peace.
  • Become a rock star.

Here's to achieving at least some of those. What are yours?

* * * * *

Currently spinning: "Rotten Apples: The Smashing Pumpkins Greatest Hits."

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!