stay hard, stay hungry
Nanny State
(14.01.2003 - 1:46 p.m.)


It's been announced in the newspapers here this morning that the government is to hold an inquiry into the influence of violence in music, films and television on the population. The inquiry is to specifically investigate whether these three areas need to be regulated far more heavily than they already are.

In other words, censorship.

We already have elaborate classification systems in place that monitor our consumption of computer games, film, television and music. We already have a government that encroaches far too much on our personal freedoms, and searches daily for scapegoats for it's own failures. And now, because of one single tragedy, they are considering limiting and regulating our lives even more.

Whilst it can be argued that the things we see and hear in the various media we consume are ugly, since when was it the role of the state to regulate and control ugliness? It's important that we see, reflect and act upon the ugliness in our lives. It's even more important that we have access to thought provoking art and entertainment. It's important that we realise that art does not kill.

I know I keep harping on about this; it's important to me. I think I might dedicate a page to it in the future if I can think of a decent concept. Any ideas? Let me know.

* * * * *

To you who are experiencing tough times and rough rides: I don't know if it helps, but you're in my thoughts always. I wish there was more that I could do, but I hope that just listening is enough.

* * * * *

Currently spinning: The Fine Art Of Self Destruction, Jesse Malin.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!