stay hard, stay hungry
How Do Our Kid?
(20.01.2003 - 11:21 a.m.)


It's the 20th January for goodness sake! The first month of 2003 is almost over already and I still have no idea where I am supposed to be going or what I am supposed to be doing. Some folks are nagging me incessantly to get a job, others are telling me to hold out until I find what I really want to do. I have absolutely no idea which the best course of action is.

I don't want to be sat around doing nothing particularly useful, but I don't seem to be able to find the motivation to do anything else. Does everyone feel like this at my age? Anyone got any useful tips? I sure could use them right about now.

I always used to know where I was heading. At least I thought I did. Now I realise that I have pretty much always left it to chance. I have drifted through a large part of my life, letting the tide take me where it will. And whilst I have absolutely no desire to be a hard headed go-getter, I want to at least have some idea of the path before me. Floundering like this is no fun at all.

* * * * *

I had a fantastic day out yesterday. We went to the Black Country Living Museum. Just in case you don't know, The Black Country is the name given to a particular part of the west midlands here in the UK. It's famous for it's coal mining and industrial heritage; hence the name.

The museum is laid out like a small suburb from the early 1900's, and people walk around in costume, telling you all about the places that you go into. There are old style houses and cottages, an old pharmacy, an old style sweet shop selling things like rhubarb and custards, an old style pub serving all kinds of old beers; the place is just fantastic.

Of most interest to me was the old cinema they had. A far cry from our modern multiplexes, it was a small shed with a tiny screen and all of about 40 seats. But for 20 minutes or so it was magical to sit in there and watch Charlie Chaplin movies.

Incidentally, if you ever find yourself in sweet shop in the early 1900's, please don't ask for a bag of sweets. The bags, as they did, costing half a penny in old english money, the best way to get what you want is to ask for "a ha'peth o' suck."

* * * * *

Currently spinning: It's Five O'Clock Somewhere, Slash's Snakepit.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!