stay hard, stay hungry
And Other Nefariousness
(06.02.2003 - 6:05 p.m.)


I think that it's the small things in life that really bring me pleasure. For example, discovering a CD that you haven't listened to for months, and realising that it is truly wonderful. I am currently listening to Chronicle, a compilation of Creedence Clearwater Revival songs. I haven't listened to it for an age, but it's bloody marvellous. See! Look at that! My foot is tapping all by itself. I have no control over it. It's kind of like the severed hand in Evil Dead 2, only distinctly more attatched, and a lot less evil. And with a sense of rythm.

Although, having said that, I suspect the severed hand in Evil Dead 2 had a sense of rythm, it just never got the chance to show off. I mean, c'mon. A hand with that much noggin must have a boogie ocassionally. Don't you think?

oOo oOo oOo

Do you remember the first time that you fell off your bike? I was sat at home earlier on, when there was an almighty crash from just outside the front window. I looked out to see a stricken looking, bespectacled kid lying on the floor, his bike on the pavement. I went outside to ask if he was okay, and he said 'Yes.' He had a nasty graze on his knee, but other than that he seemed fine. He just looked like he had given himself a really bad shock.

I have a nasty scar on my right elbow that I got whilst riding my bike. Or rather, ceasing to ride my bike in a very abrupt and painful fashion. I was cycling around the neighbourhood with my friend Adam. We were talking, as you do, and I looked back at him to say something. When I turned round again I was too late to do anything about the looming lampost. The left handlebar clipped the post and, before I knew it, I was becoming intimate with the asphalt.

And I recall once, when we lived elsewhere, cycling headlong into my neighbours beautiful display of roses. My hands looked like they had been mauled by a werewolf, and it hurt like a bitch, but I took a certain pride in showing off my battle scars at school. I also remember that my parents took the plasters off my hands whilst I was asleep. Less screaming I suppose.

All this talk of bike accidents reminded me of Full Throttle, a cool Lucasarts RPG that I used to play a lot. If you ever managed to complete it, you'll know that there were some 'Biker Haikus' during the end credits, one of which seemed appropriate to put here:

road rises upward
forehead smiles for the pavement
cranium tastes bad

oOo oOo oOo

Well, seeing as I don't really have much deep or meaningful to say, I think I'll go and make something to eat. Toad In The Hole tonight, I think.

Mmmmm Mmmm.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!