stay hard, stay hungry
Hanging Chads
(22.02.2003 - 4:05 p.m.)


I'm not sure that I quite realised it until today, but I live in my head. I have not known a day go by during which I have not had to think. That sounds a little peculiar I would guess. But I'm not talking about the thinking that we all do; what to put on our toast of a morning or which t-shirt to wear with our jeans. I'm talking about vast amounts of paralysing thinking. So much thinking that decisions become almost impossible. So much thinking that everything grinds to an agonising halt.

Maybe that's why people think I'm distant, indifferent or quietly angry. My silence isn't because I necessarily value it --- although I do --- it's because I am somehow dead to them. I may be alive in the literal sense of the word, but I am only living inside my mind.

oOo oOo oOo

When someone is standing for election to Parliament, they officially become known as the Prospective Parliamentary Candidate (PPC). I met the PPC for the Conservative Party last night, and he didn't ingratiate himself with me, or many others. The reason is simple.

As he was walking around, introducing himself, he was only making an effort to start a conversation with the men in the room. He spoke to me for several minutes, shook hands with two girls sat next to me, then struck up a conversation with the next man at our table. Obviously he thinks that women have no political opinion. Well, if the women in the room didn't before, they certainly do now. And I believe it involves not voting for him.

Combine his sexist attitude with the fact that he consistently spoke out against the opposition parties, instead of speaking about what his party were going to do, and I believe he will not be our next member of Parliament. Just call it a hunch.

oOo oOo oOo

spring is sprung
the grass is grizz
I wonder where those birdies is

some people say them birds is on the wing
but that's absurd
I always thought the wing was on the bird

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!