stay hard, stay hungry
My Immortal
(13.05.2003 - 1:59 p.m.)


"Sometime ago my mother died. She was eighty-six years old, but it was sudden and a shock. We all felt the sadness.

A couple of days after her death, I went for a walk in the local nature reserve and down to the river. The peace and quiet were good, the light on the water beautiful. Then I passed a favourite group of alder trees that I'd often sketched. There'd been some heavy windstorms and rain. One of the trees had come down. The trunk lay in the dry winter grasses, the shattered stump showing raw, ragged edges.

I was sorry. I'd loved those trees. They'd never be the same again. Yet, walking on, I found some comfort in it. Not in it's death, but in what it said to me. That death is part of the process of life. We need to accept it as part of how things are. And whether it comes tragically and out of time, or quietly and in the fullness of years, we share the same vulnerability."

Eddie Askew, Breaking The Rules.

I still firmly believe that, despite the pain at the time, or perhaps even partly because of it, that there is beauty in death.

If it is part of the process of life, and you accept that life is beautiful, how can death be anything but?

oOo oOo oOo

Does anyone else find themselves feeling queasy when they read the corporate-speak that litters the websites of the bands whose music they like?

Whilst I have been turned on to them relatively late in the proceedings, I find myself very much into Evanescence at the moment and, being the curious chap that I am, I went to check out their website.

There are the usual pages of band photos, lyrics, biography etc. All well and good. But there was also a lot of dross about the incredible depth and darkness in Evanescence's music, and some other piffle about pounding beats and jarring rythms.

I love the album. It's a very credible slice of mainstream, contemporary metal. And it's great to see a decent metal band fronted by a female. Give or take My Ruin, there are precious few of them.

But let's not overstate the case.

If you want real darkness, go and listen to the afformentioned My Ruin. If you want real pounding beats and jarring rythms, go and listen to Zyklon. Compared to Evanescence, they will both melt your brain.

So I'll state again: I think that Evanescence are great. I paid my money and am enjoying the cd immensely. I just wish that we didn't have to put up with all the associated guff.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!