stay hard, stay hungry
From Another Time: Selected Quotes And Passages
(07.03.2004 - 8:45 p.m.)


"I hope y'all will pray to your respective idols for me. Even if your idol is Michael Jackson."

oOo

"I was driving home last night, when I noticed some kind of commotion in the road up ahead. At first I thought that someone had been involved in an accident and that the man standing in the middle of the road was in some way asscoiated with it.

It was only then that I realised that the mess in the middle of the road was his Chinese take-out. And yes, you're way ahead of me on this one, it was only then that I realised this buffoon was drunk out of his gourd and was taking pot-shots with his fists at the passing cars. He managed to thump several of the cars in front of me, before approaching mine and managing to break off the near-side wing mirror.

All was not lost, however. The mirror is not permanently damaged. And besides, I pulled over once I was out of his way and called the cops on his ass. I hope he enjoyed his night in jail."

oOo

"The problem with this process of thought is that often, making these connections means that I can blow things out of proportion. I will make connections between my thoughts and my moral compass, so even if I did not act upon those thoughts, it is as if I had. Thus, something that someone else would blow off without a second thought becomes an immovable obstacle to me."

oOo

"I can't think of any other way to put it. The things that are good in my life are also the things that have the potential to make it hell. I feel like I'm playing chicken with God, just waiting to see who will cave in first.

Fortunately for me, I always was stubborn."

oOo

"If everything is relative, including the truth, then the world becomes a supremely dangerous place. Take this to it's logical extreme and anything can be justified. When meaning and truth are so fluid that you can no longer keep your grasp on them, chaos is seemingly just around the corner.

It seems reactionary to say that we are seeing some kind of breakdown in society. It seems kneejerk to say that we no longer have any sense of community. But increasingly I see individuals with no common purpose, driven by what they can do for themselves. I see people rushing to do everything, everywhere, as if speed were the new epidemic. And I dislike it a great deal.

Perhaps I am guilty of the same, writing this here; reacting before properly thinking things through. But I don't think so. I think we need to take time. Time to find strength in ourselves and the people around us. Time to find new meaning in our lives and to reappropriate the old. Time to see if there is anything absolute in this world to provide us with a grounding and a platform.

I urge you all. Take some time."

oOo

NEW! 29 Questions feature.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!