stay hard, stay hungry
Still A Bit Mashed And Lean
(16.05.2004 - 4:39 p.m.)


So I was walking through town on Saturday morning, and I did my usual thing, hopping from record shop to record shop.

And there it was. I walked into MVC just in time to hear some twisted, ethereal whisper crawling through the air and climbing into my ears. And despite the fact that they have never really registered on my critical radar, I looked over to the "Now Playing" stand to see a copy of Snow Patrol's latest LP, Final Straw.

As I am wont to do, I found a copy in the racks and bought it there and then. It's rare that music makes you come out of yourself; sit up and listen as if you've awoken from a sleep of a thousand years.

The track was Somewhere A Clock Is Ticking. I'd recommend it.

Recent purchases also include Keane's Hopes And Fears, The Streets A Grand Don't Come For Free and Rush's The Spirit Of Radio: Greatest Hits 1974 - 87. As my good friend Michelle wrote recently, Keane is probably reserved for fans of heartfelt, soft britrock like Coldplay, but is a worthy and promising debut. The Streets new album is Mike Skinner's peculiarly British take on rap/hip-hop/urban music. Somehow a slightly more grand affair than his debut, Original Pirate Material, it still manages to concern itself with the small and intriguing details of the every day. And if you claim to like prog-rock and have never listened to Rush, then you'd better go and educate yourself. The Canuck's Greatest Hits collection is a lesson in tricky dynamics, crazy lyrics about trees, and some of the most mind-bending fretwork of the 1970's.

All of which means that I am seriously overdue for an update of my music page. I'll get round to it, I promise.

oOo oOo oOo

Funny how, now that it's been so long since I've spoken to you, I dream about you every other night. Don't ever think that I've forgotten about you. You're always there, helping me along, giving me a leg-up when I need it, keeping a lid on this rickety pressure cooker of a brain.

You're always there.

Soleil.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning: Snow Patrol, Final Straw
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day: The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!