stay hard, stay hungry
The Power of Words
(2002-09-13 - 7:06 p.m.)


I used the word "skidaddle" in conversation today. I'm so proud. I should use it more often. That and the word "gooey" of course.

Harry's wife, Lily, hates the word "moist". She literally shakes and shivers every time someone uses it in front of her. And of couse we all do, knowing full well what the consequences will be. We're all heartless and cruel, I know.

I've never had it in me to hate a word. There are words that I despise the meanings and connotations of, but the words themselves? No. What did they ever do to me? Words are fascinating and wondrous things. The way they sound, the things they create. Words are truly wonderful.

You can make a person's day with one single word.

* * * * *

I'll probably get some seriously flamey e-mail and guestbook entries for saying so, but I have to join those people who have been sceptical about the outpourings over the events of 11th September, 2001.

What happened was abhorrent. But so is watching people who have no direct connection with those events making such mawkish public displays of grief.

And so are those folk that have used that day in history to promote unjustified and prejudiced opinions. You only have to read Jessie's diary to see what I mean. She isn't the guilty party I should make clear, but just read what others have had to say to her.

I shan't bring up the topic again, because it has been talked to death by so many people in so many different forums. Let them grieve in private.

* * * * *

So I created a melancholic compilation of some of my favourite songs. Here's the track list:

  • Chris Isaak - Wicked Game.
  • Joe Satriani - I Believe.
  • Bruce Springsteen - Streets of Philadelphia.
  • Madonna - The Power of Goodbye.
  • Alanis Morissette - That I Would Be Good.
  • Peter Gabriel - I Grieve.
  • K's Choice - Virgin State of Mind.
  • Enigma - Shadows In Silence.
  • Vangelis - Blade Runner Blues.
  • John Denver - Like A Sad Song.
  • Sheryl Crow - No One Said It Would Be Easy.
  • Dido - My Lover's Gone.
  • REM - Everybody Hurts.
  • Sarah McLachlan - Posession.
  • Chris Isaak - Wicked Game (Instrumental).

Sound good? Think you might like a copy? Drop me an e-mail.

* * * * *

I'm a Moonflower. I only bloom at night and I'm pollinated by moths. Kinky, huh? This flower means "I dream of love" and I do.
What bloom are you? by Polly_Snodgrass

Apparently I got this flower because I'm looking for love.

* * * * *

Currently spinning: "Lateralus" by Tool.
Currently viewing: Vox Magazine, which contains some wonderful illustrations by a friend.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!