stay hard, stay hungry
And the Walls Came Tumbling Down
(2002-09-23 - 3:46 p.m.)


So I was staring at the ceiling, listening to the dulcit tones of Chris Isaak and thinking how great it was that I didn't have to go to work.

And that's when the rumbling started. And then the shaking.

Then the CD's started falling on my head, along with my various pictures.

And then the phone started ringing and my brother was on the other end asking if he was dreaming.

"No," I said, "you're not dreaming. We're having an earthquake."

Which was nice.

No damage done. No one hurt. It was only a 4.8 on the Richter scale, so nothing much to worry about. But an experience nevertheless.

Oddly enough it's the second earthquake I've experienced. The first was when I was 14, on a tour of Holland with the high school band. I remember shouting and the glasses falling off the bar in the room below us.

That was a 6.2. I hope it never gets any worse than that.

* * * * *

The Peter Gabriel and Ryan Adams CD's arrived this morning. In a total reverse of what I thought would be the case it is the Peter Gabriel album that has made the greater impression. It is phenomenal, both lyrically and musically.

I am ever so slightly disappointed in that the album version of "I Grieve" isn't quite as good as the demo version that appeared on the "City of Angels" soundtrack. But it is still one of the most moving songs I have heard.

* * * * *

Currently spinning any combination of the following:

  • "Up" by Peter Gabriel
  • "Demolition" by Ryan Adams
  • "Lucky" by Skin
  • "Touch" by Dave Grohl

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!