stay hard, stay hungry
Alan Ball's Philosophy Of Life
(16.06.2003 - 5:24 p.m.)


"Yes, alone we are, deeply alone, and always, in store for us, a layer of loneliness even deeper. There is nothing we can do to dispose of that."
Philip Roth, American Pastoral.

"I've never felt this alone in the world. I'm used to feeling alone... and now I find out there's this whole new level."
Tracy (Dina Spybey), Six Feet Under.

They do say that imitation is the sincerest form of plagiarism. But I suspect that Alan Ball included that little statement in Six Feet Under by way of an homage. Plus I love the show, so I'm not really criticising.

I just wonder why I like such a melancholy show, because there sure as hell is a distinct lack of cheeriness in it. It's only television. But I like it.

I wonder, if the Rolling Stones had been a new band now, would they have written a song about that?

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day: Who, What, When

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!