stay hard, stay hungry
Day, Afternoon
(17.06.2003 - 1:06 p.m.)


I think that I've heard it said that smell is the most powerful of the senses for evoking memory. Of course, we can conjour up images in our head; a face or a name will spark a hundred reminiscences. But, apparently, it is smell that picks times and places out of the air as if they were falling leaves.

I was descending the stairs at about one o'clock this morning, having watched the past two weeks episodes of Six Feet Under, and as I approached the bottom step, I caught the feint smell of fresh paint. I don't know whether the smell was brought on by the heat of the summer weather, as we certainly haven't been painting recently, but as if by magic, it was 1998 again.

In that split second of smelling clean, fresh paint, I was transported back to a musty room, full of furniture draped in dust covers. I was sat amongst boxes of belongings, wondering if this was the last time that I would live in this room, knowing that I was heading off to college in a matter of days. The days were long, hot and hazy; the dog days of summer, and everything was changing.

All that from the smell of paint.

Soleil.

oOo oOo oOo

And I got a Google hit from Germany today, which led me to a site where I could translate my Diary into German. So, for those that are interested, here is today's entry in another language!:

"Ich denke, da� ich geh�rt habe, da� er sagte, da� Geruch der Richtungen f�r das Erw�hnen des Ged�chtnisses das leistungsf�higste ist. Selbstverst�ndlich wir Dosenconjour herauf Bilder in unserem Kopf; ein Gesicht oder ein Name funken hundert Erinnerungen. Aber anscheinend ist es Geruch, der Zeiten ausw�hlt und Pl�tze aus der Luft heraus, als ob sie fielen verl��t.

Ich stieg die Treppe um ungef�hr ein Uhr heute morgen ab, nachdem ichaufgepa�t darunter die letzten zwei Wochenepisoden von sechs Fu� ichaufgepa�t hatte , und w�hrend ich dem unteren Schritt mich n�herte, verfing mich ich den Fintegeruch der frischen Farbe. Ich kenne nicht, ob der Geruch an durch die Hitze des Sommerwetters geholt wurde, da wir zweifellos nicht vor kurzem gemalt haben, aber als ob durch Magie, sie 1998 wieder war.

In dieser aufgeteilten Sekunde des Riechens sauber, frische Farbe, wurde ich zur�ck zu einem schalen Raum transportiert, der von den M�beln voll ist, die in den Schutzabdeckungen drapiert wurden. Ich wurde unter den K�sten Eigentum gesessen und mich wunderte, wenn dieses das letzte Mal war, da� ich in diesem Raum leben w�rde und wissen w�rde, da� ich weg zur Hochschule in einer Angelegenheit von Tagen voranging. Die Tage waren lang dunstig, hei� und; die Hundetage des Sommers und des alles �nderten.

Alles das vom Geruch der Farbe.

Soleil.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day: Who, What, When

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!