stay hard, stay hungry
My Little Friend
(26.06.2003 - 11:44 a.m.)


Things are starting to get to me a little bit. I can feel that heavy weight building in my chest, tightening the muscles, making everything ache.

I'm driving along a mountain road. The rain is teeming down, sheeting across the window. I can hardly see as the beam of the headlights do their best to cut through the darkness. Every few minutes, as lightning streaks across the sky, the road ahead is illuminated, and all I can see are obstacles littering my path.

I won't be calm and happy until I have turned off the road at the bottom of the hill and the skies have cleared away. The problem is, the storm looks set to be here for the forseeable future.

oOo oOo oOo

I think there is something utterly charming and wonderful about adults reading to each other. But so many people can't get over the fact that it is something that children do.

Someone in my life was having a hard day not so long ago. They came round to spend an evening with me and I thought that I would cheer them up.

We started by making strawberry flavoured Instant Whip, and then I thought that we could read Spike Milligan's Bad Jelly The Witch. You can argue that it is really a children's book, but there is much in it to be enjoyed by adults, too.

Around half way through the third page, this person said that they couldn't be bothered and that it was a ridiculous thing to be doing.

I hadn't thought so. Hmmph.

oOo oOo oOo

Right now I need a hand. Some support. Maybe even a crutch, just to keep me upright.

My self destructive streak is at it again.

Maybe tomorrow I'll find my way home.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!