stay hard, stay hungry
Just As He Hit The Ground
(15.02.2004 - 2:29 p.m.)


I just tried watching High Art, starring Rhada Mitchell. I don't know if I just wasn't in the mood or whether I genuinely wasn't enjoying it, but it was just doing absolutely nothing for me, so I quit whilst I was ahead. Although I know I do it, I just can't stand listening to people being pretentious about art. I did enough deconstruction whilst I was at university to know that all that really matters to me about art is whether it makes me feel something or not. You can talk about art until you're blue in the face, but if it does nothing for you, then who cares?

You can talk Barthes, Derrida, Mulvey or Adorno and Horkheimer all night. And there is probably value in that, but know when you're taking yourself too seriously. Please. I forget who said it, but I think this is a good philosophy: Let's take our work seriously, but for God's sake, let's not take ourselves seriously.

Having said all that, I like to talk about theories and notions. I guess in the end, many things in life seem to contradict one another. In some way it feels important to talk about art in lofty terms, and yet, at the same time, it seems important not to overinflate it to the point of ridiculousness. I feel the same about music. You have to hold contradictory notions in your head about it in order to be able to negotiate it properly. All at once, it has to be the most important thing in the universe, and at the same time, just music and nothing more.

oOo oOo oOo

Does anyone outside of the UK get that show where Paris Hilton and friend go and spend their time in some town in the south of America somewhere? I just saw an episode today for the first time. I don't know whether they're comedy geniuses or complete morons. Either way, I feel uncomfortable watching it. It feels a little too much like they're taking the piss out of people's lives for entertainment value. In the light of what I said about not taking ourselves too seriously, I guess I shouldn't climb on my hig horse, but I think it just crosses the line a little. It just feels like these peoples lives are being exploited for the sake of two rich girls' fun.

But maybe I'm wrong.

oOo oOo oOo

The Mars Volta on the other hand, there's no question, are geniuses.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!