stay hard, stay hungry
It Scares The Hell Out Of Me
(24.07.2004 - 1:06 p.m.)


Anniversaries come around on you when you least expect them. Which sounds ridiculous when you write it down. How can an anniversary surprise you? It happens at the same time, every time. But still they surprise you.

Sometimes it's because you've forgotten the anniversary in the first place. Sometimes it's because you've made a concious effort to put it out of your mind. Sometimes it's because the event has somehow become less powerful.

Sometimes it's because, when it finally does roll around, it affects you more than you could have imagined.

So yes, despite their regularity and punctuality, and despite the fact that more often than not we haven't entirely forgotten about them, anniversaries are surprising.

oOo oOo oOo

Sometimes, when I make an entry here, it surprises me when I read what I have written. I look back over the words and let them roll around inside my head, sounding them out, finding out how they feel. And every so often I think, yes, I like them. Sometimes I even think that there may be a speck of originality in there somewhere.

But then it ocurrs to me, there are probably a thousand and one people who have had these thoughts. There are probably infinite millions who have thought about these things and come to exactly the same conclusion.

In fact, the only difference, and it's not a big one at that, is probably that I take the time to write things down every so often.

But then again, if that makes me different to someone else, then so be it.

oOo oOo oOo

Music page update. Muse's Hysteria may be my favourite song of the moment.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning: Muse, Absolution
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!