stay hard, stay hungry
Inspiration
(11.12.2002 - 12:14 p.m.)


Mugshots

Name: Michelle
Diary: Michellechau
Michelle says: "i'm just a fun lovin' proud canadian hailing from toronto who loves books and music with equal passion. i can be a bit of a dork, but people eventually learn to love me. p.s. i think regz is real swell. *score! brownie points* "
Regz says: Michelle is the very first diarylander I met, and the reason I started a diary here. Over the past year she has become one of my very closest friends. Who else would talk to me about music with such passion, knowledge and enthusiasm?! Love ya!

Would you like to see your Mughshot here? Then click here to read how.

* * * * *

Every so often, you meet someone that forces you to reasses the way you feel about yourself, or something that is happening in your life.

Today I met the most incredible person. When he was a teenager, his father died and he found it hard to cope. His way of managing was to start taking drugs, which eventually led to heroin addiction. Over the course of fourteen years of using heroin he has stolen, beaten up his own mother, been close to death and even more narrowly avoided prison.

And now? Now he has started his own gardening business; is studying psychology at a local college; is thinking of becoming a drugs counsellor and has been clean for five months. He's very genuine, non-judgemental and has an extraordinary warmth and a positive outlook.

And he makes me wonder what I have to complain about. If he can work his way towards being the person that he is, I can surely improve the situation I find myself in. Although I know that it takes all kinds of folk to make the world go round. Not everyone needs, or wants, or indeed can be that strong. But I feel privileged to have met him, and wanted you to know.

* * * * *

And I've gone and done it! Yes! I've bought an album by a German, 80's synth band. Which is a highly unlikely thing for me to do, seeing as I usually loathe 80's synth music.

Although we are talking about one of the more innovative, creative and long-lasting bands here, seeing as they are still active today, albeit in a very different incarnation.

Who am I talking about? Why, Tangerine Dream of course! Having found out that they recorded the theme tune to Streehawk, I was compelled to track down and buy the album with that song on it, and I've been more than pleasantly surprised.

The album, "Le Parc", is made up of songs inspired by some of the great parklands around the world, that various band members have visited at different times. Hence, track titles include "Central Park (New York)", "Tiergarten (Berlin)" and the afformentioned "Le Parc (L.A. - Streethawk)".

It's a wonderful album, out-Enigma-ing Enigma, five years before Enigma released any music. But I waffle. I just loved it.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!