stay hard, stay hungry
Mind Space
(14.12.2002 - 1:55 p.m.)


Mugshots

Name: Mary
Diary: Indigoangel9
Mary says: "i've recently developed an obsession with everything zebra print. oh yeah, and pisces rule!"
Regz says: They sure do. The finest sign in the zodiac. Not that I'm biased or anything. Oh no. Not me. Mary loves Buffy, too. 'Nuff said.

Would you like to see your Mugshot here? Then click here to read how.

* * * * *

I was walking to the local store today and, as I was leaving, glanced up and saw a footpath leading off into the woods behind me. It was a path that I had used a lot when I was much younger, walking or cycling around the neighbourhood, and I decided I'd take a stroll along it today.

It was peculiar, rediscovering this place that had somehow become lost to me. And it occurred to me how, as you grow up, the spaces you inhabit completely change. Which may seem like a very obvious thing to say, but I've never really stopped to think about it.

Places that were once so familiar, that you knew every last inch of, slowly become distant memories, before being forgotten entirely. As I walked along that path today, so many things came back to me, as if being beamed into my head from another dimension. It was almost as if those woods had ceased to exist the moment I left them, all those years ago.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, that the physical spaces we inhabit, correspond to the conceptual spaces of our minds. And it was odd, suddenly appreciating how those conceptual spaces have changed.

* * * * *

I'm darned please that I managed to get tickets to go and see The Two Towers on Thursday night. I read a review at Dark Horizons, that said the battle of Helms Deep makes the opening battle in Gladiator look like a bust-up between the Ground Force team, and an elderly couple at a local garden centre. Which sounds positive. Right?

* * * * *

Currently spinning: "Live Era: '87-'93", Guns N' Roses.

______________________________________________________
Currently Spinning:
Link-O-Rama Link Of The Day:

Light The Spark! Submit Your Link! Submit Your Photo!
Submit Your Review! Submit Your Haiku! Submit The Words!